neonpinksheep











{August 4, 2011}   Politics Got Me Pregnant

This probably makes me a terrible person, but I’m really happy about this happening.

It’s an article about a doctor who is upset because a teenage patient of his got pregnant after Planned Parenthood was cut off from Medicaid (her insurance provider) and she wasn’t able to get her birth control re-filled.

While I’m not ‘excited’ about a teenager getting pregnant, and her whole world being thrown askew, I am excited that this is happening, and I’m really excited that they’re pointing the finger at Planned Parenthood haters. Because now we’re shoving evidence in their faces.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure they’ll ignore said evidence (She should have gotten birth control somewhere else/she should have made her boyfriend wear a condom/(or god forbid) she’s too young to be having sex anyway-lets throw more money at abstinence only programs, (because we all know how well they work)) And yeah, it sucks that she didn’t get BC somewhere else. But you have to remember, she’s a teenager.

Speaking from my own experience, it’s really hard to get BC at a regular doctor’s office. Often times they have their own beliefs and biases. If you’re from a religious community and its a family doctor, I can imagine it’s pretty damn difficult to ask for BC. Personally, I would worry about the doctor telling my parents, I would fear judgment from the doctor or nurse, and wonder what sort of bias they’re leaning towards (and where they got the information they’re giving me). I’d be terrified to ask anyone who may know my family for help, I’d be afraid of getting in trouble. (And, as a teenager, I was terrified of my parents finding out, I was afraid of getting into trouble, and most of all, I was horrified at the thought of having to discuss sex with my parents. That’s how teenagers are!)

For arguments sake, I’m going to go ahead and assume she made her boyfriend wear a condom. She sounds smart, having gone to a clinic in the first place, and the article makes it seem that she had plans for her future that didn’t involve children. Condoms have a lower effective rate than a lot of other types of BC (especially the hormonal types) And accidents happen quite often with condoms. They slip, they rip, they come off inside you, you could have a pesky sibling who pokes holes in them, for all you know! So let’s just say she was smart and she got screwed (no pun intended… but tee hee) and now she has to deal with the consequences. It sucks that this happened to her, I don’t think anyone will argue that.

But, in our war against women’s rights haters/pro-choice extremists/religious zealots/whatever you want to label them as, this is a pretty great step. We have a young girl who tried to get help, and the government neglected her health care. And the article even puts Planned Parenthood in a nice spotlight. So wahoo! Small victories count. I hope everyone who reads this forwards it on and spreads the news; this new health care reform is bullshit

 

*By the by, I’m not discouraging condoms in ANY way. Personally I recommend condoms AND a type of birth control, because condoms are your best protection against STD’s. I’m just saying, it’s best to have a back-up plan. And Medicaid took that away from this girl.

*Also, my heart goes out to the girl. No matter what choice she makes with this pregnancy, I hope she thinks of herself and her future first, and can keep her chin up high enough to steer clear of the stigma. And I really hope she has a great support system. I wish her luck.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
